Past reviews on Airbnb

 


David
C.

A gorgeous cottage, superbly kitted out , comfortable, homely and cozy. David looked after us very well with a welcome and suggestions of where to go and find what we were looking for. highly recommend this super cottage.

Reviews are written at the end of a reservation through Airbnb. Reviews you’ve received will be visible both here and on your public profile October 2021.

  • I stayed at Fairfax cottage with 3 friends for a few nights. The place was absolutely spotless and David was so helpful. He made sure to check we’d settled in ok and lent us some local maps and walking routes. It was lovely to stay somewhere so peaceful. Would recommend David’s place to anyone staying in the area!


     Private feedback:
    Thanks so much for a lovely stay and all your guidance!


    David is friendly, easy to communicate with and always respond to enquiries timely. The house is clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The furnishing is bright and cozy yet parts of it leaves a historic touch. It's located in a tranquil countryside, you can have leisure walks nearby, or it's good as a base to explore the bigger North York Moors.


    October 2021

  • Great host, clean, tidy and made to feel welcome


    October 2021

  • Lovely comfortable, cosy cottage in great location.


    October 2021

  • Lovely semi detached cottage set in the farmland scenery. Really friendly hosts who own the nicest dog ever. There’s a little mini stall on the road towards there which sells fresh bread which is handy. If you need more bits then Easingwold has lots to offer. Tesco delivery found their way there no problem.


    October 2021

  • David is a great host. Cottage was immaculate and well maintained. We wanted to walk and David provided us with a great range of maps and was very friendly. The rooms of the cottage were all a good size. I’m 6ft plus had to duck a fraction, but didn’t bump my head the whole week so not an issue. Easy to park and a nice garden. Not David’s fault but the road near the cottage is quite busy and not that great to walk along other than that all good


    September 2021

  • David's Cottage was exactly as described. Very clean. Well fitted out. Everything we needed. Lovely garden. New kitchen and bathroom. Lounge very comfortable. Area is outstandingly beautiful. David is very friendly and helpful. There if you need advice. A top place to stay. Chris


    September 2021

  • A very comfortable couple of nights stay in a beautiful part of the world. Host very friendly and helpful. Well equipped, clean and cosy with a lovely garden.


    September 2021

  • Great cottage, very clean and well looked after. Good base for our trips to York and the coast.


     Private feedback:
    thanks for a great week in your cottage, very tranquil and just the job to chill out. the dogs enjoyed it too.

    September 2021

  • Chomeley is a charming, comfortable, relaxing cottage. It’s rural location belies how accessible it is to a host of attractions, beautiful villages and of course York. It was great to be able to drive there on “B” roads, enjoying the views and still only taking around 25 minutes. Our hosts were welcoming, informative and accessible without being intrusive. A wealth of local knowledge worth tapping in to. The cottage was immaculate, not lacking in any amenities or equipment that we could identify. Lovely spacious kitchen, lounge, bedrooms and to end our sunny days, sitting in the garden enjoying bird song and sheep bleating was wonderful. I only feel guilty that we spent more time being tourists and less time simply enjoying being in the cottage but it really was a delight. Thanks again Pam and David, only wish we could have stayed another week. Thoroughly recommend dinner at The Durham Ox in Crakye.........for those with a hearty appetite! Top tip if you’re a blue badge holder. Parking in York is free.


    September 2021

  • Lovely, cosy and very clean cottage, nive outlook, great location for many places to visit, so many pretty villages to check out. Overall great place to stay highly recommend.


     Private feedback:
    Thank you for a lovely welcome, tips and local information, loved the cottages. May book again next year.

    September 2021

  • Fairfax is a lovely holiday cottage in the beautiful Howardian hills. A great base for exploring the North York Moors

    August 2021

  • Definitely recommend! We stayed in Chomeley cottage at Warren House farm and it was absolutely perfect. Easy check in and David was a great host. The cottage is very comfortable and clean with all you need for a great stay. Great location for exploring Yorkshire.


     Private feedback:
    We had an amazing week away and the cottage was a perfect place to stay, thank you. Everything was comfortable and well looked after. I will definitely recommend you to our friends. Best wishes, Carolyn x

    August 2021

  • Beautiful clean cottage, idyllic location.


    August 2021

  • A lovely cottage with everything one could need in a lovely area.


     Private feedback:
    Thanks for a lovely stay.

    August 2021

  • Felt like home from the moment we walked in. Lovely cottage and so peaceful and restful. The only sounds were the sheep in the surrounding fields. The cottage was equipped with everything you need if you decide to stay in and cook. Our host was very helpful and David suggested some beautiful walks in the local area. All in all highly recommended.

    August 2021

  • A lovely place to stay and ideal for exploring the North Yorkshire coast, Howardian Hills and places of interest such as York, Fountains Abbey and Brimham Rocks ( a huge hit with our kids!). David was very welcoming and helpful with suggestions on where to go and allowing us a last minute extra person. The girls loved bottle feeding the lamb! The house was clean, adequately supplied with crockery and cooking items etc. and the beds comfortable. Would highly recommend as a place to stay and would return if ever back in North Yorkshire. Thank you David for a wonderful week!


     Private feedback:
    We have had such a lovely week. Thank you for allowing the girls to feed the lamb. Will recommend to others as your location is ideal for exploring the area.

    August 2021

  • A charming cottage with its own garden in a rural setting. Comfortable, clean and well equipped. Good for exploring the countryside. A range of places around half an hour away eg Helmsley, Byland Abbey, Sutton Bank and the White Horse. Just over an hour to the coast. Friendly and helpful host. Recommended.

    July 2021

  • We loved staying in Fairfax. Meticulously clean and very comfortable, it was a great base to explore the area: we had a fantastic time at the National Centre for Birds of Prey in Helmsley and the kids loved the boats, adventure playground and miniature train in Newby Hall's lush gardens. The bathroom and kitchen in the cottage have had a refurb recently - all sparkling new - but also with everything you could need. We had fantastic weather so sitting outside on the patio in the sun enjoying the flowers in the garden was a real treat too. We hope we get the chance to stay again!


     Private feedback:
    Thanks for the walk recommendation David. We had a lovely week and the cottage was perfect. Helen

    July 2021

  • What a great pleasure to find a great host and a lovely place for our family stay after a year of lockdown. The kitchen and bathroom are completely new , we were the first guests after the refurbishment. David is a real nice host , very easy to communicate with. We were his second French guest in 35 years. Hope we won’t be the last one cause it’s really a gem in nature.


     Private feedback:
    Thanks again for hosting us, this has been a great discovery and restful time In family. Emma really enjoyed feeding your baby sheep :)

    July 2021

  • Lovely cosy wee cottage set in a quiet area. Perfect base for visiting local attractions. Owner was kind and welcoming. Definitely recommend.


     Private feedback:
    Lovely cosy wee cottage set in a quiet area. Perfect base for visiting local attractions. Owner was kind and welcoming. Definitely recommend.

    July 2021

  • We had a lovely time at the cottage. Its an ideal place to stay if you have kids, plenty of space for them to run around and have fun. The house was clean, well equipped and in a great location.


     Private feedback:
    Thanks David, we had a lovely time!

    July 2021